Cornwall Harbours Board
Cornwall Harbours Board
Previous slide
Next slide

Cornwall Harbours Board

Cornwall Harbours Board is responsible for the operation of all of the municipal ports and harbours in Cornwall which includes Bude, Newquay, Portreath, St Ives, Penzance, Prince of Wales Pier (Falmouth), Penryn, Truro, Portscatho and Portwrinkle. Other assets that the Maritime Team is responsible for are at Saltash and Downderry.

The Board consists of 12 members, with six being Councillors and six Independent Board members who are appointed following a skills audit. There is also non-voting, co-opted members, who are stakeholder representatives, appointed to it.

Cornwall Harbours Board has been set up following best practice which was identified in the Municipal Ports Review and latterly the Ports Good Governance Guidance (March 2018) and it operates as a committee of the Council. The Harbours Board is a non-executive function and reports to the Full Council.

Its role and function is described in the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the Council and the Board. It is a requirement under the MoU that the Harbours Board will provide an annual report to Cornwall Council on how it is governing the Ports in a manner that is consistent with relevant policies, plans and legislation.

Our aims are:-

  1. A successful and long term financially self-sustaining harbours portfolio.
  2. Achieved through strong governance and management with an active localism agenda, based on a modern fit for purpose regulatory regime.
  3. Contributing to prosperity.
  4. Balanced with environmental stewardship in its widest sense.
  5. Subject to an absolute requirement for safety for all users.

The Harbours Board will ensure that the running and management of the Ports does not become a burden on the council taxpayer by ensuring their own financial sustainability and by re-introducing any surplus into the ongoing maintenance of the harbours infrastructure.

Browse meetings – Cornwall Harbours Board – Cornwall Council

Committee details – Cornwall Harbours Board – Cornwall Council

Scroll to Top